Skip to main navigationSkip to primary content
In Quebec... the father of visual and ocular health!

Alain P. Rousseau Award

A member of the Order of Canada, recipient of a medal from the Montpellier Faculty of Medicine in France, emeritus professor of the Faculty of Medicine of Laval University, and inducted into the Académie des Grands Québécois, Dr. Alain P. Rousseau was, without a doubt, the father of vision health in Quebec. In honour of his memory, the FMO has established the Alain P. Rousseau Award, open to candidates across Canada, and intended exclusively for ophthalmology residents.

Alain P. Rousseau Award 2023 details

2023 - Dre Eunice You


2022 - Dr Tina Felfeli

For 2022, a scholarship of $1,000 as well as an honorary plaque were awarded to Dr. Tina Felfeli of the University of Toronto Department of Ophthalmology. This year, the awardee has published her work in 3 journals: Canadian Journal of Ophthalmology, Cornea and Canadian Medical Association Journal and presented at the ARVO, COS and at the American society of retina specialists meetings.



2021 - Dr Siddhart Nath

In 2021, the award ($1,000 scholarship and honorary plaque) was granted to Dr. Siddharth Nath, a resident in ophthalmology at McGill University. Dr. Nath is interested in the impact of neuro-degenerative diseases on vision.

Learn more


2020 - Dr Tina Felfeli

For 2020, a scholarship of $1,000 as well as an honorary plaque were awarded to Dr. Tina Felfeli of the University of Toronto Department of Ophthalmology for her research project titled “Hypotensive efficacy of topical brimonidine for intraocular pressure spikes following intravitreal injections of antivascular endothelial growth factor agents: a randomised crossover trial.”

Learn more


2019 - Dr Andrei-Alexandru Szigiato

The 2019 Alain P. Rousseau Award ($1,000 scholarship and honorary plaque) was bestowed on Dr. Andrei-Alexandru Szigiato, who distinguished himself with his research project titled “The Effect of Eye Masks on Neonatal Stress Following Dilated Retinal Examination, a Randomized Clinical Trial (MASK-ROP).”

Learn more


2017 - Dr Claudine Bellerive

In 2017, a scholarship of $5,000 was presented to Dr. Claudine Bellerive, who thus became the first recipient of the Alain P. Rousseau Award. The selection committee, composed of Drs. Ian McDonald and Yves Sauvé from the University of Alberta, selected Dr. Bellerive for her involvement and research excellence in the area of uveal melanoma, a prized field for Dr. Rousseau.

Learn more